In many countries, wood is the primary fuel used for heating and cooking, but wood smoke can cause respiratory and eye problems, and extensive use of wood causes deforestation, a major environmental problem. In contrast, charcoal, made by partially burning wood in a controlled process, is a fuel that creates less smoke than wood does. Moreover, although charcoal costs slightly more than wood, less charcoal is needed to produce the same amount of heat. Therefore, people who use wood as their primary fuel can, without experiencing economic hardship, switch to charcoal and can thereby improve their health and preserve the environment.

The author of the argument has cited that in some countries people are still using wood as their major fuel for cooking and heating and smoke generated by it causes health problems. The author also mentioned that by replacing it with charcoal can reduce smoke and health problems will be decreased. The argument might seem convincing at first glance, However, a critical analysis of the justification supplied by the author has highlighted many queries. Therefore, the premises in their current form are not cogent and the argument is rife with unwarranted assumptions which make it more susceptible to attacks.

On the first facet, the author has cited that if people will switch to charcoal then it would be a solution to major environmental problem deforestation. However, the author has failed to consider a fact that coal is also made from wood only and if people will switch to coal then also deforestation will occur. The problem is still persisting hence, there is a clear dichotomy in the author's argument and the author has failed to answer that.

Secondly, the author has mentioned that in many countries people use wood as a major fuel, but how many people are using is still a question to ask. Moreover, he has mentioned people without economic hardship can switch to coal because it is slightly costly than wood. However, if people there are not experiencing economic hardships then they can switch to LPG or PNG also. These fuels are more environmentally and health-friendly than wood or coal. There is a possibility that people who are using wood for heating and cooking are very poor. And it raises another question that, how many people in the countries are using wood? Maybe the number is very small and nearly negligible when compared to other factors resulting in deforestation, such as forest fire, builder making buildings or deforestation for making furniture.

Additionally, the author has cited that smoke generated from burning wood causes respiratory and eye problems. However, coal is also developed from processing woods and it also produces smoke. Maybe the smoke produced by burning coal is more pernicious than smoke generated by burning wood. The author has not provided any evidence about that and naively concluded just by saying it the smoke created by burning coal is less.

In the crux, the author's argument is based on unsubstantiated presumptions. The author should have reinforced his argument with evidence to make his case more convincing. However, the author has failed to check the facts that there are many other options for the people who can afford it and the problem for deforestation still persist, thereby rendering the argument indefensible.