Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Whether it is politics, business or a life of a common man, everyone tries to trick others to make a profit or for their benefits. Until those crimes or tricks are not recognized they are not scandals but they have been recognized they are termed as scandals because they can guide a wide range of people to be cautious and alert for them. Therefore, I concur with the fact that scandals focus our attention towards those problems which had affected others and we try to be more cautious about them.

On the first facet, one of the biggest fiddle in history was done by Frank Abagnale Jr. He was known for copy the cheques of various banks and used them withdraw money from the banks. Till then no one was aware of the fact that the cheques can be copied too. However, his actions made bankers to think and to make higher security standards. However, Frank Abagnale was hired by the bank itself to validate for the cheques but this scandal made everyone focus on the problem that no speaker could have made.

Furthermore, in India government lend money to high-class businessmen on their goodwill in the market. A high-class businessman Vijay Mallya was having a loan of over five hundred million. Due to a change in bank policies as guided by the government, the bank started questioning Vijay about the installments which he was not able to pay. Therefore, Mallya decided to leave the country with over five hundred million loans on him. This scandal has been treated as one of the darkest moments in Indian history and that lead to further more leery rules for giving loans.

Additionally, the terror attack of 26/11 in Mumbai, India also made the government to put more intense measures on the security. As a group of terrorist infiltrated Taj Hotel in Mumbai and slaughtered innocuous and benign people there. This event gave the cringe of fear to every citizen of India and coerced the government to enhance security standards. Not only in India but all around the world when any terror attack happened it rang a bell in the ears of government to reiterate all the systems and analyze where they are lacking.

In the crux, yes I do agree with the fact that scandals are useful as they focus our attention on problems and we analyze the problem more logically. It does not only alert the victim but it works as an alarm bell for thousands of people around the victim and they, in turn, become more prudent and heedful in their lives.