Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.

The business manager of a television station has cited that due to a decrease in the time allotted for weather and local news they are losing local business advertisers and viewers are declining. The argument might appear logical in first glance but, critical justification of the argument has raised many queries. The author has not provided evidence to support his view which has left the argument untenable.

To begin with, the author has not provided any reason for the cancelation of the advertising contracts. Weather forecasting news and local news have no direct relationship with the local advertisement. There can be many other reasons they might have withdraw from the deal. Maybe the station is not advertising enough for them or maybe their advertisements are not arresting enough. However, the author has not provided evidence for their withdrawal and leaving the argument indefensible.

Secondly, the author has not mentioned anything about the complaints that television stations are receiving. Are the users complaining about the less time for local new or they are complaining about the authenticity of the new that they are showing? Moreover, the business manager has not provided the number of complaints that they are receiving. Are they enough to change the allotted times for the news. Maybe they have received only a few complaints and that does not give any confirmation to change the timings.

Additionally, the author has mentioned that to attract more viewers they should restore the time for weather reports and local news. But, he has not mentioned anything about why the users are not viewing their news in the first place. Maybe the news they are telecasting is specious and therefore users have switched to different channels. Maybe in past one year there is a decline in number of people watching late night shows and then by restoring the time for weather reports and local news will not be useful.

In the crux, the author's premises in their current form are not cogent. The business manager has failed to examine all the facts and has failed to provide evidence to make his/her case stronger. Thereby, rendering the argument indefensible.