The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its heroines.

Every society has some heros and heroines choosen, by considering the work that hero/heroine has done for the society. To examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its heroines, is one of the best way to understand the character of a society. Most of the time these heroes or heroines must have done some good deeds for the society. For example Indians consider Mahatma Gandhi as a hero, because he led the different march like "Dandi March","Salt Satyagrah" etc. for freedom of India from British Rule.

There might be the case that people from a certain society follows a leader (hero) who just pretend to be a man of the hour, rather than working for society uplifting. For instance north Korean citizens consider kim jong-un (The supreme leader of north korea) as a hero (even it is forcefully). kim Jong-un has put lot of restriction on citizens of north korea. And he actually does not want to uplift them.

It might also happen that the men and women in the society who chooses their heroes/heroines doesn't actually follow the moral vaules/intentions as their selected heroes/heroines usually follow.

Although this is just one of the best way to understand the character of society, There are few other ways to understand the same, like the moral vaules people in the society follows, behaviour with other animals, the treatment outside person gets from people in the society etc.

We can also consider about how people supports and elevate others also work for amelioration and betterment of environment to examine the characters of men and women in the society. also what childrens,old people,poor and unpriviledge people in the society thinks about the men and women's character.