An ancient, traditional remedy for insomnia—the scent of lavender flowers—has now been proved effective. In a recent study, 30 volunteers with chronic insomnia slept each night for three weeks on lavender-scented pillows in a controlled room where the

According to the reoprt,had been lasting for three weeks,this sleeping experiment with 30 volunteers who are also the patients of chronic insomnia was about to testify the secent of lavender could mitigate the malady, given to the effects of lavender-scented pillows, the author concluded that the lavender cures insomnia in a shot time. There are some loopholes in this medical experiment, we need to reexamine it carefully.

To begin with, there is no contrast group in this experiment. In order to prove the effect of lavender's scent, the experiment should introduce the patients with the same malady in equal number.Thus the conclusion made by the author is not well supported by this point.

Secondly, let's delve into the research which lasts for three weeks. There are designing flaws in this study. The behaivor by the patients who still take pills to cure insomnia is obsecuring the results in that we can not determine whtether it it the pills can cure the insomnia or the scent of lavender. This is the most serious factor which undermine this experiment.In addtion, there is no report of the patients' daily conditions, what did they do, what did they eat were still in question. Because you will have a sound sleep too if you have a heavy work at day, which is the common sense. Likewise, if you eat too much at supper, you would not have a sound sleep. Thus the monitoring merely at night is not sufficient to provide us enough data to make any futher conclusion.Thirldly, even the sleeping times were monitored elctronically, while we could assert this data will tell us the real conditon while sleeping ,if you have a perfect wave on screen while a nightamare in you mind which could be possbile also do not mean you have a sound sleep.

Finally,this conclusion is also probelmatic with the time. Given this was merely a three-week experiment, I doubt is it long enough to observate the effect of the result. As a medical experiment I belive it should be a long time more than three weeks to find the changes on patients.Also, there are only 30 volenteers in this study, which is insufficient to support the conclusion.

In conclusion, the conclusion is not well supported by the evidence. To prove the effect of lavender scent on curing insomnia, I suggest the author should assemble enough patients and equal number of normal people as contrast group, then devide them into groups with sex and ages to research seperately, without the influence of medicines , it wil be better to observe the effect of the lavender scent.