Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

In the prompt, the author concludes that global warming is the major cause of the decline of the population of deer in the arctic region. He believes that global warming trends have caused the sea ice to melt due to which deer aren’t able to migrate to over the frozen sea according to the reports of local hunters which further led to the decline of the population of the species. However, the author supports his conclusion on three (3) assumptions that if substantiated, dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument.

First of all, the author assumes that due to trend of global warming sea ice is declining, however, he doesn’t consider the fact that due to increase in global warming, warm areas in arctic oceans are also rising at a frequently high rate, due to which plant vegetation has increased in the recent times. Due to this reason, deer might not have to migrate over to other areas where most of the hunters might usually find them and thus, the report given by the local hunters might stand fallacious. From this, we can derive that the author assumption might stand false.

Secondly, the author believes deer are not able to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea is the major cause of their population being declined. However, he doesn’t consider the fact that due to the increase in temperature the deer might not be able to survive the high temperature or have caught a new disease that local hunters are unaware of. For instance, in 2002, some believed that decline in the population of Asiatic Lion in India is due to increase in the temperature, however, the major reason of the decline was the illegal poaching activities and hunting of the lions by the local hunters. If, the above example here stands true than it might be possible that the reason of decline might be the increase of hunting activities by the local hunters, which, indeed are providing the false reports to cover up their illegal activities.

Finally, the author assumes that the survival of deer is based on migration from one region to other. But this contemporary information regarding deer might not stand true. The current species of deer might be more inclined towards staying at a single place rather than migrating across the frozen sea. Since due to various regions each species has to evolve to overcome the uncertainties that the environment throws at them. For example, the water-born animals like a dolphin and other species of fish have changed so much in the last decade and even new species have also arrived due to changes in the environment. So, presuming that what is followed a decade before and the same if not occurring a decade later will provide false information. Thus, there might be various factors that might have led to the decline of the population of deer other than global warming that the author doesn’t consider in the prompt.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author can justify these arguments, then the prompt might stand true and hence will have conclusive evidence.