Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument claims that the decrease in number of Arctic deer on islands in Canada’s arctic regions is due to the increase in global warming trends. Stated this way, the argument reveals several instances of poor reasoning and fails to mention several key factors, on the basis of which it could be evaluated. On expanding the same premise, the author notes that global warming caused the frozen sea ice to melt and resulted in the deer’s being unable to migrate across the frozen sea. However, careful scrutiny of the assumptions reveals that it provides little credible support for the author’s conclusion. Hence, the argument can be considered incomplete and unsubstantiated.

First of all, the author readily attributed the decrease in deer population is due to global warming. This is merely an assumption made without much solid ground. There could be several other factors responsible for the drop in the numbers. For example, hunting might have become more regular in the Arctic region. Deer’s skin and deer’s head is very popularly used at a lot of homes as a decorative item. More deer might have been hunted and killed for the very famous musk. However, the argument failed to consider this possibility and hence shows poor judgement.

Additionally, the argument failed to consider the possibility of decline in the vegetation available on the islands for the deer to feed on. If the deer have exhausted the vegetation and there has been scarcity of requirements for a healthy vegetation to be grown on these islands, it is very much possible that the deer simply did not have enough food to rely on. The author should check for this possibility by conducting a survey on these islands. If the argument has provided evidence for ruling out such possibilities, maybe then it could be a more convincing conclusion.

Finally, the author completely went past the probability of the arctic islands being a natural habitat for some other animals, especially deer predators. If the islands are rife with predators at least in numbers that outrun the deer numbers, then that would be a solid evidence for decline in deer population. A survey to check the biodiversity of the islands will help evaluate this possibility. It will help to make a more cogent case if the author had conducted such a survey and then ruled out the possibility of deer predators. Without ruling out this possibility, the claim remains moot.

In conclusion, the author’s argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster his/her claim, the author must provide more concrete and thorough evidence, perhaps by analyzing the results of aforementioned surveys. Finally, it would be necessary to consider all the relevant factors that play a role in evaluating the reasons for decrease in deer population. Without this kind of knowledge, the argument remains unsupported and futile.