Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

When reading this argument, it seems at first that the writer made a clear and detailed investigation of the decline of the Arctic deer population. However, when reading it closely, one can find many flaws to it. There is some missing information which interferes from making a connection between what the writer concludes to reality.

First, the writer mentions that according to reporters from local hunters, the deer population is declining. This sentences is missing more information regarding who those reporters are. We cannot base an argument based on something that anonymous people have mentioned. In order to strengthen the argument, information about the local reporters is required. Also, it is important to make an assumption based on experiments and people who are experts in the field and not base it on dilettantes only. Therefore, the writer should scrutinize the assumption and rely on results brought from experts only. Then, it is necessary to give details about the different reporters and the researches done.

Second, there is no information regarding the type of plants the Arctic deer eat. In order to make a connection between the decline of the deer’s population and the global warming, the writer must find a connection between global warming and the effect it has on the certain plants the deers eat. Moreover, deer are animals that adapt easily, therefore the argument should focus on explaining the reasons for having no food left for them to eat.

Third, deer are animals that have been popular for hunters. There should be a research done in the area to belie that assumption that the population decreases due to hunting. It could be that many female deer died which can bring to the decrease of deer babies. It could also be that there is a new trend which increases the desire of the Arctic deer in particular such as their skin or their horns that can be in fashion or in other industrial use. This can definitely increase the number of hunters and decrease the population a lot.

In conclusion, it could be that the decrease of the Arctic deer population is connected to the global warming, however in order to be articulate with the argument and in order to convince others, it requires a lot more details and research to be done. First, there should be some research made to explore the different plants deer can eat and the proof of global warming effect on those plants to grow. Also, hunting should be examined and there should be some kind of a follow up on the killing of the female deer. Third, experts should be the ones to conclude on the matter rather than just local reporters.