Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

We often think of scandals as events that satisfy people’s craving for salacious details about people’s private lives. This may be true in cases like finding out about Madonna’s adopted baby, who actually had parents who could take care of him, but who were offered money by Madonna herself. However, when scandals interfere with our politics, this can have more damaging or long-lasting effects. This is most evident in cases like presidential elections where candidates had affairs and outside romances in the past. We can see this, for example, in Israel, which is a country that is so corrupted by many delicious scandals that come out from time to time. Despite the embarrassment these scandals cause the country, they sometimes have surprisingly positive effects in raising public awareness. Awareness can result in changes that benefit society.

One example in which a horrible corruption scandal led to a positive result was when the president Moshe Katzav, was imprisoned for sexually harassing young women at work. The scandal started when his secretary complained that he raped her several times while threatening her to keep her silence or get fired. When the scandal came out other women had the courage to complain as well. After the investigation it was revealed that Moshe Katzav was a serial rapist who used his power to be with women who worked for him while being married and serving the country. Moshe Katzav got removed from office and imprisoned. This sensational story brought wide awareness to the public and other women had the strength to complain about being sexually abused by their supervisors who were investigated and arrested as well. For example, the former mayor of Jerusalem and recently the Mayor of Or-Yehuda.

Another example of a scandal that raised awareness which led to public protests and a lawsuit was about a notorious bar that was shut down after many years of complaints. For many years, this bar was a gadfly for the neighbors who complained about drug abuse and out of control behavior. The scandal that led to its shutting down happened when a person videoed the fomenting atmosphere of the staff and the guests who encouraged a young lady to drink more alcohol while being raped by many of the people celebrating there. There were also accusations against the people who stood by without doing anything. After this video came out, the girl was medically examined, and it was found that she was also drugged. There were many riots about this case which led to the arrest of the people involved in this crime and the shutting down of the pub for good. Generally speaking, this scandal has had a positive outcome since it gave society the power to demand government's involvement which created different laws regarding the responsibility of the businesses that sell alcohol and the people who witness crime.

Given these points, we can conclude that scandals sometimes lead to regulating various laws to protect society and create positive change in people’s becoming mindful of their moral obligation to stand up to wrongdoings. At the same time, we need to remember that when scandals come up some people can get extremely heart from the outcome of it. Therefore, society has to examine scandals in a painstaking way in order to protect the individuals involved.