Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The assumption that it is primarily in the cities that a nation’s cultural traditions are preserved and generated, makes me feel uncomfortable as I don’t fully agree with it. Many of the cities today endorse the preservation of the culture by building big museums and creating traditional parades and festivals for the public. Hence, one can learn a lot about the local culture by spending time in those cities and participate in the different activities out there. However, in the past and in the modern world, cities usually serve as the hub of the financial market. People come to the cities from all over the world for many reasons such as business, or just by being a tourist. This creates a natural situation where people bringing their own traditions and cultures to the place, hence the variety of different smells, languages, foods and cloths will be seen in those places. Moreover, even museums today exchange their artifacts with other museums. hence the eclectic collection they have. For example, the British Museum in London, has original mummies from Egypt. These mummies do not reflect anything of the British culture. Another good example of a city that reflects nothing of the population living there, is Hong Kong. This city was a colony of Britain for many years and has all of the modern aspects to it. Also, Hong Kong is the hub of the financial center of the world. However, today, Hong Kong belongs to China. If going to Hong Kong, you cannot find the Chinese tradition there. Therefore, it is clear that if thinking about preserving tradition, China should not focus on financial support to Honk Kong. In Contrary, if looking for a place where tradition is really preserved, China should look in to the rural areas and villages where there is no foreign influence. Same when thinking about other countries for example, India. When visiting the big cities Delhi and Bombay, you can find a lot of the industrial influence on it’s culture. However, when traveling deeper in to the rural areas of the country, you can experience and learn more about the traditional culture such as women wearing the Sari, man wearing the Turban hat, traditional food, different smells and more.

In conclusion, it is important that the government supports their major cities in order to thrive, but not in focusing on the nation’s culture and tradition. If focusing on the culture and tradition, the government should support the villages and smaller cities as well, since in those places it is more likely to be preserved better with no outside influences.