Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

First of all, it is clear that hunt is a common practice in that zone, as the data about the decline of the deer population is given by local hunters. However, it is not mentioned if deers are included in their prey. If they have been hunting too much the last years, and they have pursued the deer offspring, it is possible that the reproduction rate is less than the death rate. In this case, the reason for the decrease of deer population would not be climate change, but unrestrained hunting. In order to prove this, a survey to all hunters that had actuated there should be done, and the obtained results ought to be compared with the birth rate of deer. Depending on the results of the survey, the relative importance of thaw can be inferred.

Secondly, as the climate has become slightly warmer, it is possible that deer have changed their habitat to a more adequate one. As they needed a quite hot place to live, and mean temperatures have increased in all the planet, an alternative explanation for the reduction of their number in Canada’s artic regions could be that they have moved to the North. In order to recall evidence to demonstrate this, a study of deer population in those places should be made. If an increase in the number of deer in a near place is found, this may be the reason for the claim.

Thirdly, it could be possible that, according to the information presented in the last paragraph, a predator species has changed its habitat, so its presence is causing their prey population (namely, deer) to diminish drastically. In this sense, a study related to the change of biodiversity in the zone ought to take place, in order to establish if there are different species from the ones that were there some years ago. If this hypothesis is confirmed, it is clear that ice melting is not the main reason for the mentioned fall of population.

In conclusion, in order to determine if the effect of climate change on the volume of ice in the sea is the unique reason for the fact presented, the influence of hunting, deer habitat change and appearance of predators must be studied.