Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

According to the author, Arctic deer who lives on the island of Canada are becoming distinct and the reason for their distinctness is due to increase in global warming on our planet earth. A subsequent increase in global warming has caused the sea ice to melt thus, making their habitat difficult. Although global warming has created serious effects all over the world, but the claims provided by the author in the above argument are vague and inadequate.

To start of, author has said that the Arctic deer have been and are living on the island of Canada. If we look at the average temperature of Canada its nearly equal to -8 or -7 degrees celsius. Global warming has surely increased the temperature but Canada is still in the state that the ice would have covered the sea.

Moreover, the report are coming from the local hunters which itself sets an irony. Arctic deer are not becoming less in population because of global warming, they need to be protected from local hunters. Hunting should be blamed of instead of climatic conditions. They are no records to show the adverse effects of climatic conditions. Hence, the statement of author needs more statistics rather than just saying.

Furthermore, to add author states that deer are becoming distinct because they are not able to follow their tradition of moving around. When we really show light on the topic, if deer are not able to migrate than the population of deer might have increased as the migration is what should have came with the risk of settling in different environment every now and then. You have never seen someone living for ages at a place leading to decrease in population of the type.

In other words, global warming although has lead to the increase in temperature but in fact have helped the arctic deer to grow and sustain the plants longer. Plants are the food they sustain on which helps them to live longer. It might have made some minimal effects on the lifestyle but surely not the only reason for the deer extinct.

Therefore, to sum up, I strongly disagree with the writer global warming being the only factor involved for the deer population distinct. Author didn’t collected enough information regarding the global warming facts to prove his points better. Also, he made a mistake by relying on the statistics of the local hunters. It’s like the shooter is trusted with the life.