Is it more important to be able to work with a group of people on a team or to work independently? Use reasons and specific examples to support your answer.

Work is the most essential and inevitable part of our life nowadays. It is the most important factor for anyone to lead a happy and a fulfilling life. According to me, it is more important for an individual to be able to work with a group of people on a team rather than working independently for several reasons.

First, a team is full of different sets of people. If you are working in a team you are obviously learning more. If a problem comes then every individual has a different methods to see and deal with the problems. Some people panic, some remain calm and some sees the problem as a challenge. Working with the people teaches you how differently you can react when the problem comes.

For instance, I work in an IT firm as a software engineer. Our team is of around 20 people from different areas of the country. Earlier we didn’t have any process of analysing work, getting reviews, documenting it and estimating how much efforts will be required. Eventually, as our team grow this task was becoming difficult. And one of my team member one day suggested to implement the method of SCRUM to have a standup regularly in the morning where everybody discusses about the work they are doing and how far they have progressed. As you can see, implementing this has remarkably benefited our team and our overall work pressure.

Second, a team is not just to do work but it is also there whenever you need help in your personal and professional work. If you have some urgent work at home then your team can provide a back support to you by handling all the urgent work. Working in team helps to lower down your burden and gives you the option to discuss any work related problem with each other. In this way, you can come to an healthy conclusion to a difficult problem.

For example, I remember when we were working late night with our team in office to deliver the project. One of my teammates phone rang, it was her mother telling him that his brother is very sick and immediately needs to go to the hospital. We all stood up to told him to not worry about the release and go take care of his brother first. We as a team divided his task among ourself and did a successfully release of the project. That’s how we get benefited working together.

To sum up, I would really suggest every one to work in team rather than alone. Some people think that working in team will make their work slow. But as popularly said, If you want to go far walk together otherwise walk alone. Speed of work might decrease but the quality of work will definitely going to be improved. And as we all know, the quality of work is always more important than the quantity of work. It is going to help us learn more from each other experiences and make us all Future Ready.