Is it more important to be able to work with a group of people on a team or to work independently? Use reasons and specific examples to support your answer.

Work is the crucial part of everyone’s life. All of us have some or the other responsibilities to accomplish. Some people think that the ability to work independently is more important than working with a group as a team; however, others believe it vice versa. Personally, I support the idea that one should be able to work with a group of people as a team, for the following reasons.

First of all, the working in a team help you improve your performance and work more efficiently. For instance, a physician seeing a patient. When a patient consults a clinic, he is first, seen by a receptionist; does the paperwork; later visited by a physician assistant for assessing vitals and basic history. This is followed by a physician who checks the complain; makes a diagnosis and forms a treatment plan for the patient. The nurse takes care of the medicine timings and the dosage given to the patient regularly. These all people work as a team to enhance the patient's experience of the health services. Conversely, it is not possible for the doctor to perform all these duties alone, as he has to check on number of patients. Such a situation will result in poor patient outcome as the physician can’t focus on the task in which he is trained and good at. This explains how team work can enhance the efficiency of each of its member.

Moreover, ability to work in a team helps you to finish multiple necessary tasks within the given time. Although if you know how to work independently, it is not possible every time to execute different tasks in time. Doing house chores is a perfect example for this. I and my husband commute to the office daily for work. In addition, we have many household chores in "to do " list of the day. For example, cooking meals, breakfast, doing dishes, spending time with the kids, house cleaning, and washing clothes. Even though I can do all of this without anybody’s help, yet I need to work with my husband and kids so that we all manage together to finish the work in time and spend some family hour. This is only possible if we distribute our responsibilities and work as a team.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that one should have the ability to work in a team. This is because it promotes efficient execution of work and because group work helps you to complete multiple necessary tasks within the time.