Is it more important to be able to work with a group of people on a team or to work independently? Use reasons and specific examples to support your answer.

Work is the crucial part of everyone’s life. All of us have some or the other responsibilities to accomplish. Some people think that the ability to work independently is more important than working with a group as a team; however, others believe it vice versa. Personally, I support the idea that one should be able to work with a group of people as a team, for the following reasons.

First of all, the working in a team help you improve your performance and work more efficiently. when many people work together to reach the same goal, they discuss and perform with efficiency to get a good outcome. For instance, when I was working as an ICU respiratory therapist in a tertiary health care centre, I was a part of the team for patient care. Once we had a patient of plural effusion in Cardiac unit. The doctors though that it was due to cardiac failure, however, my opinion was that it was caused due to the underlying lung collapse. Untill the investigation were out, we all agreed mutually to put the patient on mechanical ventilator and later, take action on the basis of the test results. Consequently, we were able to make a wise decision and without any complications, we could accelerate patient’s recovery. Conversely, if I had treated the patient as lung collapse due to immobilization without consulting the consulting physician or if the physician would have treated the patient giving diuretics, it would have resulted in undesirable outcomes. We would have harmed the patient than not doing any good. As you can see, this example demonstrates how important it is to be able to work as team.

Moreover, ability to work in a team helps you to finish multiple necessary tasks within the given time. Although if you know how to work independently, it is not possible every time to execute different tasks in time. Doing household chores is a perfect example for this. I and my husband have to go to the office for work daily. In addition, we have many household chores to perform. For example, cooking meals,preparing breakfast, doing dishes, spending time with the kids, house cleaning, and washing clothes. Even though I can do all of this without anybody’s help, yet I need to work with my husband and kids so that we all manage together to finish the work in time and spend some family hour. This is only possible if we distribute our responsibilities and work as a team.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that one should have the ability to work in a team. This is because it promotes efficient execution of work with positive outcome and because group work helps you to complete multiple necessary tasks within the time.