A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

According to author, the children living in the Himalayan region of Nepal are less prone to tooth decay compared to the children living in suburban region of United states. Thus, the author has made the conclusion that regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay of the people of United States. I strongly disagree with the author's view as he has provided with the required evidences to prove his point valid.

Firstly, he has compared the data of Himalayan region of Nepal and Suburban area of United States. Comparison made by him is both irrelevant and inadequate. As he is comparing different countries, different countries will have varying climatic conditions which will have an impact on the tooth decay of children. In addition he has compared to different lifestyles of the countries. Every lifestyle has different quality of food intake and different variety of food intake will lead to different effects on the tooth. Some food might be more harmful than others.

Also, the author didn't take in account the different in toothpaste which the citizens are using, the varying brushing habits of the children in the two countries and the varying food habits of the citizens. Thus, the information is incomplete and cannot be considered as the valid statement in favor of the conclusion stated by the author.He should have provided more deep information for the same.

Secondly, the author has given information about the professional dental care provided to the people of Nepal and United States. Nepal, on one hand has no or little dental care, on the other hand people of United States visits dentist on an average of 1.25 times per year. In this, the writer have not collected the information specific to the children of the two countries. Might be plausible that the dental care received by the United States children are more in comparison to the dental care of Nepal students. Hence, these statistics can not be considered as a valid statement to support the argument.

Moreover, the author has not compared the type of dental care provided the two countries. He should have compared the professionalism of the dentists to prove his point that even though the dentist were equally qualified the dental care not helped much in preventing tooth decay. United States might have good dental care that leads to lower tooth decay in the children.

In conclusion, I would strongly disagree with the statement posited by the author that the regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay. Author should have been more meticulous while gathering these information of different countries. He should have collect more comparable data. Author should have been more focused towards either comparing the same region of two countries or the different regions of the same country.