A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Curriculum, the word means a defined set of information or knowledge which needs to be studied in a defined period of time by some students or scholars. In today’s world, every class of every school have different courses that leads to different curriculum in every school. Author suggests an idea to have similar curriculum for every school nationwide to avoid the comparison of study between the institutions. I disagree with the author’s statement, as it will lead to less competition and more mundane environment in the educational world.

Firstly, different states have different cultures and according to these culture they have different subjects included in various classes. Some states taught there own religion along with the various other subjects. Some taught sports, as they consider it is important for a student to grow both physically and mentally. The types of sports taught is again vary from institution to institution based on the available space, resources and the priority set the teachers or the committee of the institution.

Secondly, we already have different boards having set of educational parameters set for each class. We have specified books to be taught in different institutions with the same board. But the fact is the courses or books content have already become very old. Change in these books has to go through a long process. Already, institutions are charging more from the students for the information they are providing to the fledgling people. People who can’t afford high class education can then select a different board for there student to study in with lower price standard.

Moreover, diversity is important as different people having different sets of knowledge in different subjects can open options for better advancement in a country. Different students have different mental level, setting standards the same for every student will then make difficult for them to grow and learn more. Knowledge is a vast ocean and restricting it to a well will only bring adverse effects in our society.

In addition, some people want to learn french, some sanskrit, some english, some germany and some might need to learn other languages. We should always provide options to students to let them find what attracts them the most. Let them find their interest and passion in early stages rather than waiting until they enter college.

Henceforth, to sum up i totally disagree with writers point of view of having similar curriculum nationwide until the students enter college for further study. Diversity is what we live in and what we should maintain to help the environment grow. Restraining the students in a small box of knowledge will in future make problems for them to understand the real world.