The argument to be analyzed is as follows:

The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument that Super Screen should increase its advertising to reach the public more, omits some considerable questions that should be addressed in order to asses the argument utterly. As it may be true, at first glance, that advertising can be beneficial to reach the public more, there are additional concerns must be scrutinized including defining vague and unstated target audience, percentage of positive reviews and the medium that are displayed.

Primarily, the author conveniently assumes that, percentage of positive reviews increased during the past year although fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies. Keeping all of this mind, we face with a question arises that is there any external factor such as economic recession that causes the declining of attendence. Therefore, we should examine the overall attendence of the movies that are released in this year from different production companies. If there is an overall declining, advertising may not be the solution for the reaching the public.

Secondly, Super Screen company has to eliminate vague causual relationship before they are implementing the plan. Ostensibly, increasing positive review can be correlated with greater public visibility, however, the medium that positive reviews are displaying should be determined. For example: the large ratio of positive reviews can be in the newspapers which do not have large scale of customers, thus, it would not create a controversy in the argument. Moreover, the percentage could be only 1% and might be slightly increased to 2%. This leads to form another plan to increase their public visibility and it needs further research that why their positive reviews are low.

To conclude, the argument could not establish a feasible case while it substantiate the claim of enhancing company's advertising. If the author examines the key details and finds possible strenghts and weaknesses that discussed above, it would generate more coherent picture to determine whether or not advertising is likely to result in the predicted outcomes.