Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The prompt given suggests that the the number of viewers for the movies from Super Screen production company has decresed, while the percentage of good ratings for the same movies have been better than previous years. The advertising director believes that devoting more funds to publicity of the movies will bring in more viewership, but this can never be concluded without assessing factors such as the released language, genre of the movie, and most importantly the demographic associated with the region the movie is released.

Since less number of audience were seen to be attended this alone cannot be used to interpret the success of a particular movie, irrespective of its rating. Assuming the cproduction company released an english science fiction film, in a non native english speaking country such as Japan or China, we won't be expecting the same response you would typically expect as one would in a english speaking country like the United States. A small population which does end up watching the movie might be english speaking and appreciate the movie for what it is, but it could also be non-english movie audiences who expect brilliant Computer Generated Graphics(CGI) and a brilliant motion picture which would have enticed them to rate the movie higher than the movies produced last year in the local language.

The argument above implies the demographic associated with region where movie is released is a key factor to consider. But the important question we need to ask ourselves is does quality of movie not to be focused on as suggested by the advertising director. It is clearly a no, as we have established above a group of audience might still love a poorly written movie if it has great visuals and CGI. Instead of promoting the movie as a whole, the company can look into better pre-production studies of choosing the right scripts for the particular type of people they are going to release it to, and decide the amount of screens the movie would be displayed.

Given that, publicity is still a major factor to consider as there is still a possibility of a brilliant movie unable to reach a wider audience despite a wider rating. Movies are usually reviewed by critics which are lionised by common people or fans alike. Publicising reviews by movie critic and field experts, is more convincing as people would then really want to spend money to go watch the film in a screen to appreciate it the same way the critics do.

Devoting more share of the companies expenditure to publicity is a promising step but it would indeed work better to consider focusing on pre-production work, and the kind of public the production company would deal with in case of any particular movie, and publicise their work accordingly.