Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

The argument here states that super screen should allocate greater share of its budget to next year to reach the public through advertising. In order to trust the advertising director, I would like to find answers to a few questions that I'm going to ask below.

Firstly, the director mentions a report from the marketing department that states that fewer people attended the super screen produced movie as compared to last year. I would like to ask who were the people surveyed? What percentage of these people were newcomers with respect to people who were regular visitors? The report here mentions nothing about the kind of people attending and therefore we get no insight to what were the statistics of the said report. Making decisions according to insufficent data would prove to a loss making verdict.

Additionally, the arguments states that the percentage of positive reviewers increased during the past year. This could also mean that the same amount of people as last year came, but since the movie this time was better than last year, we got more positive reviews. The argument fails to answer here basic questions such as numbers with which the positive reviews increased so as to get a better idea of the situation.

Likewise, the director brusquely mentions that quality of movies is good but publicity is the issue. Subsequently, we also need to take in factor the genre of movies that are being displayed on the super screen. Maybe the genre being displayed is something that the majority of public finds difficult or uncomfortable to watch, which would explain the low attendence. For instance, a person who does not like horror movies, will eschew from watching such movies on super screens no matter how well the movie is made. We need to take in different perspectives of the situation to take an informed decision.

Furthermore, when we discuss quality of movie, what do we know about the scale with which it is being rated? The director fails to mention what is the rating scale and how we are marking the quality of a movie as good in comparison to others. Without a proper knowledge on marking scheme, it is difficult to rule out if a movie was a hit or a flop.

In essence, I would just like to make notice that fact that this data is statistically insufficient and significantly overlooking many perspectives that form the basis of any decision. Sanctioning any kind of budget, might prove to be disastrous to the producers as well as the crew of the movie business. Thus, I would urge the advertising director to bring in more data and reasons to request for a greater budget.