A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college rather than allow schools in different parts of the nation to determine which academic courses to offer.

The argument states that all students of the same nation should study the same curriculm set by the nation until college. I would like to disagree with the proponents of this argument as there multiple fallacies to it with the major flaw being the narrow scope of knowledge that comes with fixed curriculum.

Firstly, I'd like to point out that each student has a distinct set of interests and aspirations with which they would want to move ahead with in life. Setting a fixed curriculum would narrow down and limit the extent to which a information is available to the student. If a child is interested in Biology but the curriculum of the subject only explains concept to a certain extent, since Biology is a compulsory subject and the curriculum has to cater to every child's limits, there is restriction on course offerings. Whereas if there was a choice of subjects, people who don't like the subject could have opted out. And since there are only students who hold interest in the subject, the course offerings for the subject could be broadened.

Likewise, a student who doesn't hold any interest in a particular subject would be less enthused to study for it and would probably face difficulty studying it. This would lead to lesser grades or perhaps a negative impact on the student's life. Drawing on my own experience, I would like to say that this holds to true to large extent. I have always been interested in computers and I had a fixed subject called mechanics in my curriculum. My interest and knowledge on the subject were very limited and since thus studying for it was a huge burdensome task for me. I had to invest in much more time to clarify concepts and when I still ended up getting average grades, my morale took a huge downfall. This impacted my day to day behaviour too.

Additionally, subjects like painting, music and sports are generally not paid much heed and are defined as extra-curricular. This means that when there is a fixed and same course listings for everyone, these subjects would not be given much attention. So students who excel in these subjects and would like to imagine a future in it would be overlooked and more recognition would be paid to other subjects like maths and science. For example, if a child excels in basketball and since there would no grading system for physicals, the child's talent is lost on report cards and no college would acknowledge him/her. This could greatly impact the child's future in a negative way and we won't know whom to hold responsible.

Parallelly, the proponents of an argument would say that knowledge in all subjects is necessary and would mold a student's future overall. I would agree to this statement, but only to an extent. I agree that having basic knowledge in all arenas is a great flex but that is it, we only require it to be basic. It doesn't have to be too deep or doesn't have to critically graded on. On the same lines, what we could actually plan out is having the same curriculum only till a fixed class/grade. For example students can choose their own courses after a specific grade which would ideally be the 9th grade or freshmen year in school. This would clear out a lot of things and would provide best of both arguments.

In essence, I would like to draw on the fact that making such decisions go out to be a little extreme. Passing out judgement without doing proper reseach would lead to erraneous results and the lives impacted would be multiple. We could draw out the positives from both sides and come half way in making perfect decisions for the future of our nation.