Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Interdisciplinary courses are a great way of introducing and allowing students to take courses outside their discipline. But making it mandatory would-be huge step in the wrong direction. This might bring a huge shift in the academic culture for students which would not necessarily bring a positive effect.

Firstly, courses outside the curriculum might be a tapping into an unknown territory for a student. They might have no knowledge on it and thus will be committing to it from scratch. In this case, grading a student on a subject which lies outside their interests would be a faulty ruling. Having experienced this firsthand, I can say that subjects outside my field frustrated me a lot since I couldn’t understand them thoroughly which resulted in my scoring less and bringing my GPA down drastically. Similarly, this could hold true for other students as well bringing down their morale along with it.

Furthermore, taking a variety of courses outside the student’s field of study would extra burden because they won’t be dropping any of their field subjects to accommodate the former. This would create extra baggage for the student which might result in them performing poorly in subjects in their field of study. This might affect the student’s portfolio for the future, especially if the student decides to go for higher studies in the same field. Colleges pay a lot of attention to grades of students and this requirement would impede on a student in a drastic way.

Naturally, introducing subjects of different discipline might also positively affect students and broaden their scope of knowledge giving them an edge. Of course, this holds true if such a requirement is not made mandatory for students. Giving it as an option where the student willingly chooses interdisciplinary courses might prove to be extremely propitious. On the other hand, universities that are keeping this requirement mandatory can make these said subject’s grading system of little less importance or any similar grading system could be used.

In conclusion, I would just like to say that the universities should not make such hasty decisions without determining all possible consequences of it. With suggestions from other factors such as professors, students and any related faculty would provide better insights to reaching a much favorable conclusion.