The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

The statement suggests that for optimum utilization of society's resources such as our youth, we need to instill them with a quality of cooperation instead of competition. I would like to agree with this statement and will be providing support for such claims in the following paragraphs.

Firstly, when we talk about the development of a society , we need to keep in mind that society in itself does not mean wellbeing of each individual but rather the entire group as a whole. If we start implementing rules and regulations according to each individual, then the society as a whole fails and we will see a rapid decline in stability. But instead, if we cooperate and then take decisions, which leads to stability in society as a whole, then there is a higher rate of success. As the famous quote goes 'In unity we stand and divided we fall'. If young individuals start competing instead of cooperating, then regular negative trysts would lead to chaos and destruction instead of order and development.

Additionally, I would like to bring to light the fact that the young generation is the future of the nation. Every step they take towards their futures, is a step towards the future of the nation. So we need to make sure that instilling their minds with the correct formula for success because that is our best bet for the development of a great nation. By cooperating, we teach them that taking in every opinion and perspective and then taking decisions accordingly, creates rooms for innovation and better reforms that will burgeon our upcoming generations for decades. For instance, a person who takes in opinions of their peers is more likely to be respected and valued than a person who just wishes to beat his peers and come out first. No one wants to listen to this person. So the recipe for development is definitely joining hands and going forward.

Parallelly, the proponents of this argument would mention that competition between peers motivates everyone to do their best. I would like to agree with this statement but only till a certain extent. Competition does bring out the best in people and is surely a motivating factor. But if there has to be any kind of competition, it has to be with our own selves; to be better than we were the last time. To beat our own limits and come out the best versions of ourselves. Each individual is born with different capabilities and pitting them against each other and thinking that would benefit the nation is disaster in process and would be a erroneous decision to take.

In essence, I would just like to say that taking decisions regarding the youth of the country has to be thoroughly thought of and every aspect of such decisions should be looked properly. Significant decisions like these could make or break a country and then we would have no one to blame. So we should be very careful and discuss these things with cooperation.