The real talent of a popular musician cannot accurately be assessed until the musician has been dead for several generations, so that his or her fame does not interfere with honest assessment.

How do you measure a musician's real talent? The argument mentions assessing musician's talent to pass out an honest assessment to his qualities. But can you really tell if someone's music is right or wrong? Is it right comparing it with other subjective fields such as Mathematics? I would like to disagree with the argument here and provide a few of my opinions on this.

Firstly, the author mentions here that a musician's death can only be her/his way to getting honest assessment of her/his music. We have excelled so much over the past centuries only to accurately be able to assess music after a grave event like someone's death? All the fame that the author mentions here that stymies with the musician's real assessment of her/his music, is very subjective. Music is not a field that has a right or wrong. Music is meant to be enjoyed. It is meant to be devoured by anyone and everyone who like it. A musician's motive isn't to just keep collecting audience for no reason. It is also to make an impact through his own music. That fame could be the real assessment of the musician. Maybe a musician is popular and famous because her/his music is that poignant. Disregarding fame as a hindrance to assessing someone's talent is not fair to the musician's fans and the musician himself.

Parallelly, the entire motive of a musician is to appeal to an audience no matter the size. If a musician isn't dead but isn't famous either doesn't mean his music is any less good compared to others. He just maybe hasn't been discovered by a people yet. Or hasn't gotten a chance to send her/his music out to the world yet. Subsequently, even if a small amount of people like his music, he's already successful. His motive is in progress. Just because someone else could do it better (gather a lot of audience), doesn't mean his worth is diminished.

Lastly, if you assess a musician's worth only after his death, he/she will never be able to know if they were ever good. They will spend their entire life maybe waiting for that validation and upon not getting them, might even go to great extents of giving up their music careers. This decision could stop a great musician for developing fully and that's robbing the society of an idol. A musician's gets encouragement when they get an audience validation or most importantly, music authority's validation. This validation could either make them or break them. Passing out decisions such as the topic itself could be grave decision and would do a lot of damage.

In contrast, there are also celebrities that have a lot of fame and just because they might look good or have a beautiful personality doesn’t mean that their talent/music is the real deal. All this could be because of the fame the author of the argument mentions. She/he could be getting undue publicity for no reason, which in turn foreshadows other actually good musicians. But this scenario happens one in a million. Audience isn't that much of a fool to neglect real musicians for fake ones. We've got to give more credit to the assessment abilities of the audience as well as the music authority.

In conclusion, I'd just like to mention that while the author of the argument might not be completely wrong, it doesn't make his argument any less ridiculous. Judging abilities and talents after death of a musician is depriving him/her of an opportunity to grow and to become better. This decision could do more harm than good and we all would be facing it's consequences.