Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced

While it may be true that the production company need to allocate a greater share of its budget for awareness in public about the movies, author does not make a cogent argument to prove so. Argument is fallacious and needs to be more factual and not based on assumptions to lead to a conclusion.

First of all, the whole argument is based upon a report from company's marketing department that was taken last year that fewer people attended the Super Screen produced movies. Author here doesn't show enough factual data to back it up sufficiently. For instance, it's possible that marketing department only account for all the money related issues and not any advertisements reach to public.Than the whole argument falls down and there is no basis to conclude that budget needs to moved to advertisement department.

Additionally, author states that positive reviews for the movies are increasing. Here also the errors are visible. The positive reviews increased for some specific movies not all. Also the movie reviewers can be a niche of people following these specific movies. The link between the report of marketing department and positive reviews for specific Super Screen movies is not visible. Likes, How much part of all movies was these specific movies?

Moreover, the claim that there is nothing wrong with movies quality but with reach to prospective viewers is not supported by any type of detail. There is no mention of quality of movies, or any other specific property of movies other than generated revenue and advertisements.

Authors whole argument is based upon assumptions like one year report is enough to move budget to another department, specific movies reviews being positive means whole movies are of good quality and lastly the link of quality of movies to awareness in people is not strong. If author could cite more details of each of these assumptions then it would be a strong argument to change budget to advertisement section.But with these erroneous mistakes its lacking the cogency and filled with holes.