Humans arrived in the Kaliko Islands about 7,000 years ago, and within 3,000 years most of the large mammal species that had lived in the forests of the Kaliko Islands had become extinct. Yet humans cannot have been a factor in the species' extinctions, b

In the argument, the author is trying to say that the extinctions of the mammal species in the Kaliko Island regions cannot be due to actions of the humans that migrated into the forest some 7000 years ago due to sparse nature of evidence. Though author seems to believe such a hypothesis his claim is fallacious and has the lack of details to support the argument.

Exploiting these mistakes we can see that it's not compelling at all. Firstly, there is a difference of 4,000 years between the era in which mammals species extinction occurred and humans moved into the forest. Anything without enough facts or evidence can't be put into certainty, be it humans hunted these animals or an environmental calamity caused the extinction. Author fails to provide any strength to the argument, it's just stated that there wasn't much proof that could lead to prove that human did the act. If author had tried to show in which way the evidences were collected or what were that criteria's applied to reach to the conclusion then it might make more sense to omit humans as the cause of the extinctions but due to no support to the statement it fails to provide cogency to the argument.

Moreover, author mentions the discard of small fishes bones and states that no large bones were found hence conclude that it means humans are innocent in the case. Again it is possible that most of the bones from the mammals must be fragmented now. Also, the relation of the bones of fishes and mammals not clear enough to make such a claim. What author is trying say by relation is not concludable. If more points were included to make the relation more diaphanous and a better approach was used to reach the conclusion then it's possible to consider the claim.

Lastly, in last line author completely believes that climate or any other natural hazard caused extinction not humans is absurd. In such a large time period of time, nothing can be stated with 100 percent surety. And on what basis author is blaming nature for the cause is also not elaborated. It's completely absurd to say that by omitting rest cases nature is the culprit. More details are needed to make such a claim and author nowhere mention he ended up with the conclusion.

Though it might be possible that humans didn't hunt these animals and by some natural disaster extinction occurred, however, without any concrete facts or details nothing of those can be proved. The author claims everything with certainty but didn't put enough factual data to support his argument.