"The desire of corporations to maximize profits creates conflict with the general welfare of the nation at large. "

Corporations work solemnly for their profit and tend not to be benevolent toward the nation, in most cases. It is plausible as there are many instances supporting this supposition. Corporation have only one thing in mind to make money, they have only mercenary thinking, and do their best to be on the apex of the competition. But is it so?

Let's take some corporations in consideration. Apple inc., a big multinational company of the world, not only united states, have produced some of the finest products of technology, like IPhones, IPads and many others. They are at top of the chain in smartphones sector and hence, generate highest amount of profit other than any company in the same field. Once it's revenue was so much that it was estimated more than whole U.S. GDP. That's huge.

Now talk about Microsoft, as we know it as the company that made personal computers from a dream to a reality. Windows OS, a product of Microsoft, is one of the most used and widespread operation system in the world. Now you can imagine how much revenue this tech giant must be generating.

Reading above introduction and examples one might think that corporation have only one objective earn profit. But what I didn't mentioned is that what were the affects of these companies over people or the nation itself. Apple make great products and it extol the nation rank too. When someone talks about U.S. powers and domination over world they always metion Microsoft and Apple as the companies that helped U.S. grow to the culmination of technology. This is the way they support the nation to prosper.

These are just private corporations there are public corporations also whose sole purpose is to improve condition of the nation in specific fields. In India, an initiation "Digital India", has its only purpose to help India dgitize its different fields, from education to agriculture. So, it calls the claim in question.

There are many more instances to show what I am trying to convey here that it's not necessary that every coorporation is not helping nation and just completing its job to take the top position. While there might be some corporations that slur the reputation or welfare of the nation, however, not each company is just making profit where as if they won't make profit how will they survive, it's part of the sytem how they works. Not only corporation if something is working to come to the top of the chain they are implicitly or explicitly contributing to the welfare of the nation.