In an attempt to improve highway safety Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways But this effort has failed the number of accidents has not decreased and based on reports by the highway patrol man

The author the passage states that in order to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered it speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hours, But this effort has failed. According to author prunty county should undertake same measures as that of Butler County completed five years ago. Which has 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this year than fiver years ago. However there are major gaps in the lines of argument.

Firstly, the author stated the attempt to improve highway safety Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this has failed, Now if we see the author a has also stated the reson for its failure as the reports by the highway patrol shows that many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. So if the measures taken to improve the highway safety are not been followed properly so how can someone conclude that this effort has failed. This is due the that drivers who are not following the rules so here instead of trying out other approaches Prunty County should ensure that the rules of the speed limit has been followed properly, they should impose strict fines for those who doesnt follow the rules or should suspend his/her driving liscence for a few days so that with this fear people will make sure that they drive under the speed limit mentioned by the Prunty County.

Secondly, Prunty County should ensure same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago, How does it make sense now? They did the following - increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. What is Prunty County has already ticked their boxes of the mentioned measures. The author here does not provide enough evidence that this is required. The report should contain the information that clearly shows the reasons for the accidents on the highway, But with the absence of that author can not conclude that Prunty County should also do the same as Butler County.

Thirdly, its written in the passage that major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this year than there were five years ago. Firstly the author is talking about the Prunty County highway safety and here the data given is about the all Butler County roads which may include highway as well as normal city roads. So here this data is not useful for the claim. Also there can be the situation where many accidents are not reported. We are also not given that 25 percent of what data, also the segregated data is required of the normal roads and highway roads. So without a clear and specific data this can not be concluded.

In summary, the author should have provided enough data and evidence to conclude this claim and also the strict rules imposed on the lawbreakers would have helped to improve the highway safety. But in the absence of these the argument falls short.