In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Prunty county faces a big problem related to vehicle accidents. Hence, higher authority passes a law relevant to speed limits. But, this legal system fails to curb the accidents. Also, highway patrol cops provide a report and claims that many drivers still miscreant the limited speed. Hence, top council decide to employ same mechanism that applied by Butler county in last 5 years. In that Butler county officials decided to improve road quality and visibility. Therefore, same scenario will apply to Prunty county then situation will be ameliorated. Stated in this way the arguments fail to mention several points based on that it could be evaluated. The conclusion relies on an assumption for which, there are no clear evidence. Hence, the author's conclusion unsubstantiated and unsupported.

Firstly, the argument clearly assumes that hampering the speed of the vehicles reduce the accidents. This is merely an assumption without solid background. It might be possible the cause of the accident is other reason. Like most drivers might be imbibe the alcohol significantly. Also, there may be problem of the environment. Due to higher rain mostly accidents cases happened in the world. Therefore, mention in this way argument fail to mention critical points; so, author claim is not well built as it described.

Secondly, Cops report has no any statistics about whole scenario. In addition, they claim that many driver still trespass the speed limit. But, how many drivers? It might be possible those driver are excellent in driving and they did not contributed their part in escalates accident frequency. Hence, this is again weak and unsupported argument. The argument fails to describe the relation between speed limits and the accident frequency based on veteran or good drivers.

Lastly, the argument readily assumes that one strategy had applied in other county provide surity about this county as well. It might be possible road system of the Butler county were not good as required; that's why more accident happened. so, they reduced accident by improving road quality and visibility. Again, we don't know the particular number of accidents in Butler county. It might be possible there were only 20 accident happened and they would restricted up to 15 in next five years. Hence, the argument is not compelling as it describe; therefore, author's claim is not plausible.

To conclude, the author's argument unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it, author must provide more concrete evidence. It could be considerably strengthened if author mention all critical points. As a result the author's argument has a no legs to stands.