In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

With the information provided about, the assumption leading to conclusion remains unfounded. This argument is well presented yet fat-fetched. This argument claims that decreasing speed limit from 55 to 45 is not sufficient solution for diminishing number of accident in the city. Indeed, some cities adopt a variety method such as resurfacing rough highway, improving visibility at precarious intersections. Hence, this conclusion is ill-founded.

The primary assumption underlying the author’s conclusion is that Prunty County should implement similar to Butler County. Nevertheless, he fails to preclude other possibility that provided that trend of Bulter County does not work in Prunty County. As a matter of fact, perhaps the situation of them is totally different. So, to reinforce the argument the author should have discussed about detail of position two cities which are crucial for comparison.

Furthermore, the author of the assumption avers that high speed in the road is a main reason for accident. However, he fails to take other possible reason into account that it might be possible that there is a plethora factor for accident such as road condition, lack of sign in the road, inclement weather, driver driving skill, influx of teenage drivers to the area has increased accident. Want of such prudent answers make the assumption full of holes. S, to reinforce the argument the author of the statement should have discussed about other factors such as weather of the region and characterize of the road which is considerably imperative without any doubt.

Moreover, the author of the assumptions assumes that as long as Prunty County implements same approach will decrease their accident. Nonetheless, without considering and ruling other possible method for preventing accident such as control of heavy traffic, educating driver to youth, putting a huge sign for lighting road and so forth. So to reinforce the argument the author should have provided information about other ways for diminishing accident during the year which it will be more effective.

In short, as discussed this conclusion cannot be tenable. The author should have discussed about detail of the situation both city and compare them together. Besides, there is other factor for accident. In fact, speed is not sole reason for this event. On the other hand, to make a rigid conclusion is very myopic observation method. After all, feckless attempt with a fallible method could be noting a fool's errand.