In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

In the mentioned argument, the author claims that if a road improvement project is undertaken in Prunty County similar to that in Butler County, the number of accidents can be reduced. However the evidences which are mentioned to support the claim cannot be accepted to be completely true and are flawed.

The speed limit is decreased from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all Prunty County highways last year. This decrease in speed limit might not be sufficient for all the highways. Some highways might have more traffic density and the speed of 45 miles per hour still may be too high for such a crowded road. This might be one of the reason for the prevalent number of accidents taking place, in spite of the reduced speed limit. Also, there are instances of many drivers exceeding the speed limit which also adds to the reason of the accidents taking place in the Prunty County. We need to know the number of cases of accidents because of the speed limit violation in Prunty County as compared to the accidents taking place while the vehicles were in the prescribed speed limit.

Secondly, it is suggested to undertake a road improvement plan like Butler County. While the plan may have worked for Butler County, it may not work similarly in case of Prunty County. Increasing lane widths and resurfacing the road surfaces might even tempt the drivers to speed further considering the already prevalent cases of speed limit breach. This in turn may prove baneful. We also do not have any information of the climatic conditions prevalent in both the areas. If the Prunty County has slippery roads most of the time owing to rains or snow, resurfacing its rough surface might even add to the number of road accidents. Increased lane widths might not be helpful if the road traffic density is still high and the cases of over speeding existent.

Lastly, it is said that major Butler County roads have a speed limit of 55mph. It is not necessary that the same speed limit might be on other highways in Butler County. Similarly, a rigid speed limit of 55mph is not necessarily the accurate speed limit for roads in Prunty County. Owing to the traffic density, weather conditions, quality of driving, etc. it is not mandatory that a 55 or 45mph speed limit in Prunty County would be safe even if the road improvement plan similar to that in Butler County is implemented. It is also stated that there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County last year than 5 years ago. While the decrease might be true, we do not know the exact number of accidents. If there were total 100,000 accidents and decrease of 25 percent accidents might point to total cases of 75,000 reported accident, which is indeed a high figure and the exact reason for each of the accident is unknown. Also considering the decrease in number of accidents just for last year might be deceptive. We need to know about all the cases ever since the road improvement project was implemented. Additionally, we have no idea of the number of unreported accidents.

In the light of all the above weaknesses in the argument, we cannot be sure of the claim to be true. It is not necessary if the road improvement plan like Butler County may be useful for Prunty County. There may be several different reasons for accidents in each of the areas. Additionally the author should have provided more information about the accidents and their reason, the weather conditions in both the places, the geography of each areas, the traffic density, etc. to bolster the argument and strengthen his claim.