One year ago we introduced our first product, 'Bargain Brand' breakfast cereal. Our very low prices quickly drew many customers away from the top-selling cereal companies. Although the companies producing the top brands have since tried to compete with us by lowering their prices, and although several plan to introduce their own budget brands, not once have we needed to raise our prices to continue making a profit. Given our success selling cereal, Bargain Brand should now expand its business and begin marketing other low-priced food products as quickly as possible.

The author of the mentioned argument cites that as Bargain Brand cereal was a successful product because of its low price, it should also start marketing its other low priced food products. But the evidences which are stated to support this claim are not completely reliable and are seriously flawed.

The Bargain Brands breakfast cereal was the first product of the company and launched just a year before. The people might have turned to this product owing to its novelty and would not necessarily mean that people would altogether give up using the top-selling cereal brands as we know about its sales data just from the previous year. It is unnecessary that the same trend continues in the years to come where there may be other brands marketing the same food product with several variations, quality and price. Hence the assumption that if the product did well a year ago, then it would definitely continue to do so in the upcoming years may not hold true.

The Bargain Brand cereal being very low priced might have drawn many customers in the preceding year. Also, as the top selling cereal companies were not able to provide a product with price as low as the Bargain Brand currently, it does not mean that they won’t be able to introduce such a product in near future. These being very established brands might be able to invest in advanced techniques to produce food products at reasonable costs. It is mentioned in the argument that the top selling brands do have plans to introduce budget brands and hence may need some more time to materialize this plan. Once this plan is out, it may be possible that the products offered have even lower prices than the Bargain Brand. Also, if the sales of other brands go up owing to the above mentioned factors, the Bargain Brand might have to increase the prices to help maintaining its profits. Thus the very essence of the product i.e. low price may be altogether lost and may adversely affect the brand.

The author assumes that cereal being a successful product, its other food products would also be popular amongst the customers because of its low price. But, the customers may have a preference for specific brands already and may not prefer to buy the bargain Brand products. We do not know how the quality of the food would be as the price at which it is offered is low. Additionally, the author has not mentioned about which food products it is planning to market. It could be breakfast cereals, bakery items, ready to eat products, etc. We have no idea if the customers like its other food items. There could have been a survey where the people were asked to rate a particular product by offering them free samples. Also, feedback could be asked for any improvements which could be made in the product.

In the light of above discrepancies, the argument cannot be accepted to be completely true and needs to be further supported with additional data such as customer feedback and review before any new product is launched. Additionally, a study mentioning comparison with other food products including the price, quality, local preferences, etc. should also be made before launching other food products.