In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

In the above statement, the author contends that the Prunty County should improve their road as what the Butler County had implemented 5 years ago. After the road improvements done in Butler County, the author propounds a supporting evidence that the accidents have reduced 25 percent last year compared to the statistics from 5 years ago. While supporting his argument, the author makes numerous assumption that is not taken for granted. Thus, further evidence pertaining to this issue should be warranted in order to make the writer's claim more valid.

Firstly, the author assumes that limiting the speed limit from 55 to 45 automatically leads to less accidents. So the author states that since the number of accidents has not decreased, limiting the speed from 55 to 45 is no use. However, it may not be the case. The conditions could not have remained the same when the speed limit was 55. Although the speed allowed for vehicle is constrained to 45, the number of cars on the road could have surged. Or, many green drivers could have started to drive cars due to a university built recently. Therefore, further evidence pertaining to whether other conditions have remained constant should be validated in order to claim the author's statement to be validating.

Secondly, exceeding the speed limit leads to more accidents is not conclusively proven. Although the author supports this statement by giving the evidence from the highway patrol that the number of accidents has not decreased, the author is mistaking the simultaneous, exclusively act with the causal relationship. The speed limit could have been exceeded in order to evade more serious accidents to happen, and actually prevented the harsh happenings. Other reasons could have been responsible for the number of accidents, such as stated in the above paragraph. In addition, there is no numerical data on to what degree the speed limit was exceeded. It could only be a mere degree that cannot give fault to the reason for the constant number of accidents. In addition, the number of drivers using the Prunty County's highway could have increased, therefore the ratio of the number of accidents by the drivers could have actually decreased. As such, more detailed evidence should be suggested in order to validate the author's claim.

Lastly, the author assumes that what has been applied in Butler County could also be appropriately applied to Prunty County as well. However, first, the improvement done in Butler County was the experience from 5 years ago. The regulation could have changed dramatically from the past, so, the same could not be applied to Prunty County. In addition, it could be the Butler County's drivers personality that could have accounted to less accidents to happen. They might generally have more careful characteristic traits compared to the Prunty County. Lastly, even though the number of accidents has decreased, the percentage of the accidents arising could have actually increased due to few drivers using the highway. Or, since the statistics is based on the last year, it could have been a temporary one.

In sum, the author's claim is not very well supported in its current form. Further evidence pertaining to the environmental conditions in Prunty County from when the speed limit was 55 and 45, the reason for exceeding the speed limit, and the conditions for Butler County's situation from 5 years ago is crucial in determining the validity of the claim.