Claims: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.

In the above statement, the author argues that the problems that heckle modern citizen cannot be solved by the legal system because laws cannot change what people have in mind. However, the following essay will contend that it is plausible to disagree with the author's claim.

Admittedly, people's innate characteristics are difficult to amend, since their traits have been with them for their whole lives. In addition, if the laws were to solve the problems that citizens in our society heckle with, no criminals would be extant. However, to whomever we ask, we can acknowledge that it is not the case. The same kind of problem arises intermittently. Even with the help of the law, incarcerating the criminal, we can easily see criminals committing crime again after they are emancipated from the jail. For example, a vicious criminal called "YoungChul You" in Korea, sexually harassed a woman and even killed her before being incarcerated. However, after years of incarceration, he soon commits the same kind of crime again. Therefore, it could be stated that legal system cannot change what people have in their mind.

However, we also have to admit, simultaneously, that the legal system is beneficial to our society. If it were not for the legal system, more of the criminals or problems we have been suffering from would have been extant or develop into more serious degree of the crime. For example, the sop among the upper echelon is now prevented in Korea due to a law called "Kim Young-Ran". The law circumscribes the amount of money that is allowable as a gift that goes around for the people who are in relation economically, politically, or socially that the counterpart is beneficial to oneself in someway. Before this law present in our society, the price of the gift, or sop, skyrocketed that it has been a heckle to the lower echelon in order to ingratiate the upper echelon. However, due to the law being constituted, people who give sop have decreased their financial concern. Therefore, we could state that the legal system decreases our degree of concern in our daily lives to some extent.

In addition, people are mostly subordinate to laws. The criminals are the few anomalies that exist in our society. Removing the anomalies, we see many people being pliant to the legal system. Many acknowledge that law is what is beneficial to everyone and believe that law is constituted to be applicable in generic society. If our values contradict with the legal system, we try to find faults to our values and happen to follow the legal system to prevent hassles between others. Therefore, people tend to follow the law in order to harmonize in their own community they are a member of.

In summary, I believe that the legal system can solve numerous problems in our modern society to some extent and prevent perilous happenings to develop from our current degree of problems. In addition, people who are mostly a member of some kind of society of their own tries to be harmonic with their members. Thus, they tend to follow the legal system that is promised to be kept by everyone categorically. Therefore, the legal system, law, is beneficial in that it moderates the degree of seriousness in problems that we suffer daily.