The following appeared in a memo written by a dean at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a new dormitory. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, should double over the next fifty years, thus making existing dormitories inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has increased in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, an attractive new dormitory would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham

In the above statement, the author contends that due to the predicted increment of the enrollment in Buckingham College and difficulties in finding the affordable off-campus housing near Buckingham college, the college should build a new dormitory to accommodate students. Thus, the new accommodations for the students will attract students in the future to be part of the student at Buckingham College. While supporting the argument, the author relies on numerous assumptions that cannot be taken for granted. Thus, further evidence needs to be corroborated to ascertain the author's statement.

Firstly, the author assumes that the current trend will likely to persist and develop in the future indicating that more students will be likely to attend at Buckingham College. The author supports his or her claim by stating the difficulties for affording off-campus housing that will naturally lead to students finding on-campus housing, stating the need for more of a new dormitory. However, it may not be the case. We cannot be sure of the fact that the current trend will persist. In addition, the town could have been full of residents of family with little kids that those numerous kids would join the Buckingham college in the future, that the dormitories are not more of a need and could even be a waste of space. As such, more detailed evidence is required whether the current condition will likely to also persist.

Secondly, there could be other unpredictable factors that could hamper the trend. The building of new dormitory could increase the cost for attending the Buckingham College which could lead to less enrollment, having few students to cover the cost of the new dorms. Or, the new dormitory could be a burden to students that the off-campus accommodation to become more affordable to the students. Although the average rent for an apartment near Buckingham College has increased, it could be far lower than the cost of new dorms or the average rent could decline due to numerous off-campus housing being competitive to attract more students. Therefore, the benefit of housing off-campus could outweigh the living in a new dorm. If these unpredictable factors are likely to arise, the new dormitory would not be a factor that could attract students in the future to enroll at Buckingham College.

Lastly, the author falsely assumes that students can be attracted by a housing option to enroll in a university. The up-to-date facilities of a new dormitory could act as a fertilizer to attract students, but it would not be the core factor that could make students to join the college. Most students go to college in order to increase their depth and width of knowledge, searching for a good education institution that teaches students well. In addition, the college could be allocating their finance toward the accommodation for the students, that the attention toward the faculty members and the quality of education could be put aside. Then, the enrollment at Buckingham could even decrease and the students could be in search for institutions that pays more attention to education, not the living condition of the students. Therefore, further evidence needs to be corroborated whether the college keeps their full attention to the education as well, in order to make the author's claim valid.

In summary, the author's contention cannot stand valid in its current form. Further evidence pertaining to whether the surrounding environment, conditions will persist, the burden not being allocated toward students for building new dormitories, and whether students can be solely attracted by the new housing option in order to claim the author's statement to be more valid.