Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Nowadays many problems in society are too complicated and some of them can not solely be solved by laws and the legal system. And other factors such as moral and subsidy is also important for solving problems. Furthermore, I mostly disagree with the reason that laws cannot change what is in people’s spirits. In my opinion, laws play an significant role in reshaping people’ s thoughts and ideas despite its deficiency and limitation.

Firstly, laws may be invalidate to find solutions to some issue and other power should be taken into account to work out these trouble . For instance, industrial pollution is a very important problem in today’s society and most of them can be reduced by companies . But many companies try their best to make profits , and they don’t want to spare extra energy and introduce special equipment to reduce their industrial garbage in production which pose a great threat to the well-being of public. They escape form their responsibilities to sustain clean and safe environment for people , and laws system are often too slow to make effective measures to reduce these phenomenon. So the society should rely on moral judgement , public supervisor and media exposure to reduce these pollution. For example, if media report the irresponsibility of those companies for reducing pollution, the reputation of these companies will be badly hurt and consumers won’t buy their product any more. So the companies’ revenue and benefits will be hurt . And companies will attach enough importance to protect environment. Therefore, in some situations, the power of other factors can make up the deficiency of legal systems .

However, the role of laws in regulating people’s behavior and changing people’s thought can never be neglected. The cause of laws clearly informs people that what they should do and what they can’ t do and which behavior is legal or illegal. For instance, child abusing is very common in modern world . And the United States make various kind of laws such as The Adoption and Safe Families Act (ASFA) and Children's Internet Protection Act (CIPA) to prevent any behaviors of abusing children . Those detailed clause effectively regulate parents’ behavior and change what they think. If parents abuse their children in some ways listed in laws , they should receive the punishment of laws. So these laws play an very important role in protecting American children , and they indeed change parents’ attitude to children and their thought. Affected by these laws , most Americans root the concept of protecting children in their minds.

Furthermore, laws as social regulation can match with other powerful tools to sustain society’s stability. Including various laws, American also have many family preservation , support services, and subsidies for adoptive children. What’ more , some non-government organization also make many measures to protect children’s rights. If legal system keep suitable cooperation with these organization and well-being, American can do a better job in protecting children .

In sum, laws have irreplaceable roles in protecting people’s safety and sustaining social stability though it has its own limits in some fields which need power of other regulation factors. People will adjust their thoughts and behavior to the laws. And with laws and other regulations to work together, the society will be a safer and better place for people to live .