Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Nowadays , many problems in society are too complex for people to comprehend and sometimes they can not solely be solved by laws and the legal system . So other powerful factors such as moral and subsidy should be took into account . Furthermore , i mostly disagree with the reason that laws cannot change what is in people’s spirits . In may opinion, laws play an significant role in reshaping people’ s thoughts despite its deficiency .

Firstly , laws may invalidate to find solutions to some issue and other power should be took into account to work out these trouble . For instance , industrial pollution is a very important problem in today’s society and most industrial pollution can be reduced by companies . But many companies try their best to make profits , and they don’t want to spare extra energy and introduce special equipment to reduce their industrial garbage in production which pose a great threat to the well-being of public . They escape form their responsibilities to sustain clean and safe environment for people and laws system are often slowing in make effective measures to reduce these phenomenon . So the society should rely on moral judgement , public supervisor or moral exposure to reduce these pollution . For example , if media report the irresponsibility of those companies for reducing pollution, the reputation of these companies will be really hurt and consumers won’t buy their product any more . So the companies’ revenue and benefits will be hurt . And companies will attach enough importance to protecting environment . Therefore , in some situations , the power of other factors can make up the deficiency of legal systems .

However , the role of laws in regulation people behavior and changing people’s thought can never be neglected . The cause of laws clearly inform people that what they should do and what they can’ t do and which behavior is legal or illegal . For instance , child abusing is very common in modern world . And the United States make various kind of laws such as The Adoption and Safe Families Act (ASFA) and Children's Internet Protection Act (CIPA) to prevent abusing children . Those detailed clause effectively regulate parents’ behavior and change what they think . If they abuse their children in some ways listed in laws , they should receive the punishment of laws . So these laws play an very important role in protect American children and they indeed change parents’ attitude to children and their thought . Affected by those laws , most Americans root the concept of protecting children in their minds .

Furthermore, laws as social regulation can match with other powerful tool to sustain society’s stability . Including , American also have some family preservation and support services , and subsidies for adoptive children . What’ more , some non-government organization also make many measures to protect children’s rights . If legal system makes suitable cooperation with these organization and well-being , American can do a better job in protecting children .

In sum , laws play an irreplaceable role in protecting people’s safety and sustain social stability though it have its own limits in some filed which need other power . People will adjust their thoughts and behavior according to the laws . And with laws and other regulations to work together , the society will be better and better .