The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

In the above statement, the author contends that it is the general welfare of the citizen that indicates the degree of a great nation, not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists. However, the following essay will contend that it is plausible to disagree with the author's statement.

Admittedly, since the rulers, artists, and scientists does not represent a general citizen, it is hard to say that solely by looking at the leaders of their own concentration, one can appraise a nation's strength. Most of the renown scientists are the ones with an innately high creativity and IQs, anomalous to a general citizen. So they do not owe their contributions toward their nation by the country's capacity, but their own ability. Not only scientists, but a country's ruler as well. A country's ruler can be a very political leader, such as a woman leader in the Southeast Asia. Although she was famous for a progressive, impartial, democratic leader, the country in the Southeast of Asia is not as strong as the countries which leaders with similar knacks.

However, the above example is a mere occurring case. Most of the greatest leaders of a country in their own field comes from the countries with a strong capacity of knowledge, ability to hold cultural activities. For example, famous artists come from Europe where the countries have been retaining their culture as in the past. Also, scientists are mostly from where there are a hale base of science and technology. Therefore, car manufacturing companies are usually in Germany, France, and mostly in their vicinity.

In addition, countries utilize the leaders, artists, scientist's contribution and let their country be stronger.