36. The following memo appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council.

"An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby East Meria, where fish consumption is very high, people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds. This shows that eating a substantial amount of fish can clearly prevent colds. Furthermore, since colds are the reason most frequently given for absences from school and work, attendance levels will improve. Therefore, we recommend the daily use of a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil as a good way to prevent colds and lower absenteeism."

In the above statement, the author contends that every day consumption of fish will prevent cold and lessens absents in school and work place in West Meria. While supporting the argument, however, the author makes numerous assumptions which cannot be taken for granted. Thus, the argument remains largely unconvincing without further evidence to verify unjustified assumptions.

Firstly, the author assumes that what East Meria's students and workers experience could be applied to West Meria's people. However, this may not be the case. East Meria people could enjoy large amount of fish due to a nearby sea that has substantial fish for consumption. Or East Meria people might have viewed fish as their main source of food and are accustomed to eating it everyday. On the other hand, West Meria's citizen in schools and workplaces could have a poor accessibility to fish to enjoy it every day. Moreover, since they could have not been enjoying fish for a long time, they might have repulsion for fish even though they knew that eating fish is good for their health. In addition, the fact that the East Meria people do not suffer frequently from cold was shown by the low visits to the doctors. However, East Meria people could have a good home treatment for the cold. Further evidence pertaining to whether people in East Meria and West Meria is experiencing the same environment should be needed to support the claim.

Secondly, eating fish is the main reason for low absenteeism is not conclusively proven. The author presumes that East Meria's fish consumption is the reason for low number of absents in schools and workplaces. However, East Meria could be enjoying other substances such as vitamin supplements, other kinds of food or do more workouts. Or, West Meria people could have been eating a source of food that has the exact same nutrients from fish. As such, more detailed data needs to be considered whether eating fish cures the problem of low absenteeism.

Lastly, the ramification that the author gives as a response to the survey has low validity. People gave out the response as a reason for absent to be cold. However, we do not know whether that is really the truth. They might have suffered from other illness but was lazy to explain their symptoms and just responded as cold. In addition, we do not know which part of the school and workplaces of people answered the survey. It could have been people from other country or other states that does not guarantee the same answers from the people in West Meria. Therefore, it is necessary to consider evidence about whether the survery is valid to the West Meria should be provided.

In sum, the author's claim is not very well supported in its current form. Further evidence pertaining to the applicability of the East Meria people to the West Meria, other reasons for low absenteeism in East Meria, and the validity of the survey is crucial in determining the validity of the claim.