The best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

Many would say that the argument's quality is being diagnosed by whether a person is able to convert the other's opposing perspective over an issue and to convince them. The reason behind this is stated as in the case of one's idea being threatened by others, that person is willing to defend more and become more obstinate with his or her perpective. Therefore, at this time of the period, when a person is able to convert the counterpart's idea, that person could be said to have a knack for giving apposite argument. However, the following essay will argue that it is plausible to disagree with the general statement.

Admittingly, obdurated ideas are hardly convertable and impressionable. In our democratic world, there is a voting system and this system allows the candidates to propound their perspective over the community they are willing to control. Those candidates aiming for being chosen as a leader campaigns and advertises oneself consistently, trying to convince the citizens with other points of view. The winner will be the one who gets the most votes. This action could imply that the certain candidate has a good strength in giving arguments when there is a controversial conversation going on within the people. In general, we could acknowledge that the candidate with the most votes is deserved to be the leader because of the lofty argument that he or she gave toward the public.

However, frankly, we have to admit that we are living in a corrupt world. We see leaders of a certain society being elected in an illegal way. The candidate could have bribed the members of the society for consecutive years and nullified their grudges toward the opposite viewpoint of their origin perspective. Following this process, the leaders are not fully warranted to be a good convincer, rather it was just a power of perquisites that he or she suggested to the society. For example, in other case rather than election, federal legislators are often bribed by the conglomerates to cover their past flawed activisms, willing to evade the reproach or even the boycott. Then, the federal legislators legislate a law that acts positively toward the conglomerate. Thus, we can see easily that federal legislators who should be the one who is most objective, giving strong argument over the society's rule, are often on their own initiatives nulls the counterpart.

Moreover, the result of how the society rallies the opinion could be based on the personal characteristic of the representative on the one side and the other. When the person who is trying to convert a society's ambient toward one's perspective is personally more aggressive, harsh, and intimidating compared to the counterpart, the other side of the viewpoint could be easily intimidated and give up their argument because that side's representative is a very introvert.

In summary, I believe that although a degree of how good the argument is could be measured by convincing the counterpart, there are more other reasons that undermines the statement. The argument could be held not because of one's arguing skills but by the other peripheral reasons, such as being affected by financial perquisites, or depending on the personalities of the members in the argument.