The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment building to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads on the first five floors of Sunnyside Towers were modified to restrict the water flow to approximately 1/3 of its original force. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. Clearly, restricting water flow throughout all the 20 floors of Sunnyside Towers will increase our profits further."

In the above statement, the author argues that adjusting the amount of water usage from the showerheads will save a considerable amount of cost and profits will be increased. While supporting the argument, the author relies on numerous assumptions that cannot be taken for granted. Thus, the argument remains largely unconvincing without further evidence to verify unjustified assumptions.

Firstly, the author assumes that what seemed to be successful in floors 1 to 5 will be successful to the same degree in floors other than 1 through 5. The author is assuming that the similar proportion of people lives in the building. However, it may not be the case. There could be almost no body living in the floors 1 to 5, that restricting the amount of water usage from the shower heads would not result in complaints. Residents proportion could be lopsided to upper floors that when the restriction is applied to all floors, substantial number of complaints could be followed. Therefore, additional evidence pertaining to the proportion of the residents inside the Sunnyside building is needed to support the claim and assess it.

Secondly, what had been done a month ago to be resulting in the same effect currently is not conclusively proven. The result that the author propounds to support for his evidence was from a month ago. However, the weather could have changed for the residents to require a lot of high pressured water from the showerheads for sanity. It suddenly could have changed to a hot summer day. Therefore, the residents in the building will protest toward the manager of the building and the managers could spend a lot of financial spending to placate the residents' complaints. Then, it will not guarantee the profits to increase. As such, more detailed evidence on whether the overall environment surrounding the place stays the same should be warranted in order to assess the author's claim.

Lastly, the author assumes that the residents will not take additional action when their water readings are in constraint. However, it is not plausible without corroborating evidence. Due to the limitation of water readings, the residents are deprived of their opportunity to be clean. Therefore, in order to prevent the actions that could make themselves out of sanity, they will try to prevent sweating. If residents follow this context, they will turn on the air conditioner alternatively. Then, the costs for managing the building might even exceed the costs for the water usage, and profits might be smaller than the casual water usage without the constraint. Thus, it is necessary to consider evidence about whether the residents will take additional action in place of limitation of water to claim the writer's statement conclusively.

In sum, the author's claim is not fully supportive in its current form. Further evidence on proportion of the residents inside the building, surrounding environment, such as climate, and alternative action taken by the residents when confronted with the shortage of water is crucial in determining the validity of the author's assertion.