In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

My assessment on this argument indicates that, the argument seems plausible at the first glace but is not well reasoned. It can be drawn from the passage that though the speed limit on highways at Prunty country has decreased from 55 to 45 there is no change in the accidents taking place, it is clear that the people of Prunty exceed speed limit no matter what the barrier is. The speed barrier is not a matter of consideration but the driver’s intensions to regulate is.

Firstly, road improvement project undertook by the Butler was completed 5years ago and the results are to be seen now, which is a great paradox. The results to show up immediately are the roads are widened, resurfaced, and visibility has been increased at the intersections. This implies that the reason behind the decrease in the road accidents is not due to the road widening or any other reasons. Further, we are unaware of the fact as to what are the other reasons which had made the decline possible. Butler country has a weak stand and cannot be good consideration.

Secondly, road conditions of Prunty are not know and hence any conclusion can’t be made in this regard. It would be insensitive to just implement the changes. The Puntry country has not seen any decrease in the accidents as has not taken necessary action on the drivers who are exceeding the speed limit. There has been no change done by the government to reduce their excess speed. Had the government taken some action it would have been easy to evaluate the reason behind the accidents.

Finally, the effort to reduce the speed limit goes into vane if there is none to fallow the limit. Implementing what Butler country has implemented might not change the scenario as the reasoning given by the author seems absurd. We need much more information to evaluate this argument.

Summing up, the author has given an insufficient data for the analysis. As the example given by the author is also absurd the argument doesn’t have a stand to be evaluated. It can be enhanced by detailed investigation there off.