In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

To improve the highway safety in the Prunty County, the authorities are aiming to implement certain measures. A proper evaluation is required before finalising on the measure to be implemented.

The Prunty County has implemented a certain obvious measure like reducing the speed limit in order to decrease the number of accidents causing on the roads. But they have critically missed out the survey required to find the root cause of these accidents. They have assumed that the accidents are occurring due to high speeds. Whereas it may not be the case at all. Also, the speed of 45 miles per hour is too not justified. The decision of finalising the speed limit depends on various factors like the terrain, the population density of the region and many other relevant factors.

As they have failed to achieve the desired results, the County is preferring to adapt a certain measure which is already successful in other location. While thinking about this, they have failed to understand that the safety measures which are successful in other region may not necessarily bear the same fruits in their region. The measures like increasing the lane width, resurfacing the highways and improving visibility at intersections must be requirements of the Butler County as compared to Prunty County. The problems can be resolved by finding solutions to your own problems rather than imitating other’s solutions. The Prunty County may already be having required lane widths and also there may be no accident prone intersections at all in the county. Thus, it doesn’t make any sense in following other’s suit in resolving your own issues.

Along with it, the comparison is made of the current results with those 5 years ago. A lot of thigs can change in these five years. Not necessarily the implementations made have had a positive impact on the outcome. The vehicular usage may have gone done due to awareness of climatic conditions and therefore, the usage of public transportation may have gone up, leading to lesser number of vehicles on the road. Even media could have played an active role in the process, which the author has failed to mention during the course of the argument.

Thus, imitating the Butler County’s measured without evaluating your own problems is not a solution to the issue. A root cause analysis is required to reach an understandable conclusion.