People work because they need money to live. What are some other reasons that people work? Discuss one or more of these reasons. Use specific examples and details to support your answer.

Work is an integral part of human life. Since the dawn of civilization, the tendency to work has brought upon major breakthroughs for mankind. Be it for himself or for others, humans have strived hard for the betterment and this has been the major driving force for the evolution through the ages.

People work not only to earn money but also for different reasons. The purpose of the efforts varies from individual to individual. There are people who work for their self-satisfaction and there are people who work to pursue their interests and their dreams. The motivation for work varies across the people as well through age. For example, a young, dynamic student who has just graduated from college and taken up a job opportunity may work in order to gain industrial experience and then proceed further to pursue his further studies. Or he may even take up the job as he has core interests associated with it and this may help him develop further in the field.

It may sound uncanny but there are instances when some people take up an odd job just for the sake of self-satisfaction which he did not find in the previous job. For example, a successful surgeon who has had a successful career in the medical field may take up the job of a truck driver so that he can fulfil his interests in trucking. There are wide reasons for someone to work in an unconventional fashion.

There are people, too, who just work in order to serve others and engage in humanitarian activities. This is because their conscience tells them to do so. They find peace when they see other people in comfort and therefore strive to better the lives of others. They contribute to the society by working in the non-profitable organizations like the NGO’s, etc. The greatest example among such people is Mother Teresa. She worked for the upliftment of the people who were deprived of the opportunities and were not considered of the same status in the society. She established a humanitarian organization in the city of Kolkata, India which served such people. And she has proved to be an inspiration to all the future generations through her contribution towards humanity. She was awarded a Nobel Peace Prize for the work she carried out.

Thus, it can be concluded that the sole purpose of work varies from person to person depending on his skills, interests and attitude towards life. It is not always the money which brings the eternal satisfaction in life.