People work because they need money to live. What are some other reasons that people work? Discuss one or more of these reasons. Use specific examples and details to support your answer.

Working is an essential activity for people. Earning money to survive is a major reason for working but is not the only or most important one. In my opinion, there are a lot of reasons people work other than money. People might be motivated to challenge themselves, find some meaning in life, or to just keep busy. Others find fulfillment in helping others.

People have an instinctual need to wake up every day and do something because our genome was programmed to do so and our necessity to work supports this. Consider this: even the richest person wishes to keep busy. Whether it is thinking about how to spend their money or earn more they are never truly doing nothing. Try to answer this simple question: Why do you wake up every day? Most would say, to make money to survive, but this is not enough! Analyzing this question and human behavior, we can achieve a real answer: we work to feel useful, to stay busy, and to challenge ourselves to be better. Without this, life does not have any true meaning for humanity. A perfect example of our need to do something can be seen at the end of a month-long vacation. The itch to be productive will begin to drive the average person insane.

Another point against working strictly for money is working for the betterment of society. You can clearly see in jobs like being a doctor, a nurse, a psychologist, a lawyer, etc that the desire to help others may be the biggest factor in humanity's drive to work. Looking even deeper, one could argue that all jobs, however indirectly, work together for the sake of all of humanity. I personally have been working with the development of new drugs that can help people with neuropathic pain. At the moment, my research is only in the lab with cell lines and rats, but every bit of progress I have made gets us a bit closer to a final product that could change people's lives.

In conclusion, I believe that people work to feel alive because it is in our very nature to do so. Even if we complain about a dreary day at work, we (hopefully) still love what we do.