In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

To decrease the level of road accidents the officials of Prunty Country have already taken some measures, for instance, they put the restriction on the allowed speed. Since it was not successful, they intent to adopt the measures which Butler County applied. Though it may look a good solution, it contains some prominent logical flaws.

The reduction of the allowed speed from 55 to 45 mph might be not a fruitful measure. This speed can still be dangerous with the bunch of other conditions, like, low quality of roads, the lack of rad signs and others. Maybe it will be more effective if to reduce it to lower than 45 mph. Thus, the officials of Prunty County should pay more attention to whether this speed restriction can improve the situation at all.

At the same time, Prunty County cannot rely on the experience Butler County, and adopt its road improvements. The officials of Butler County could examine that they indeed had had problems with lane widths, rough highways and visibility at dangerous intersections, which were the main reason of traffic accidents. Otherwise, the high percent of accidents in Prunty County may be caused by other factors, like irresponsible drivers, bad roads, or the lack of illumination on roads.

Moreover, the period of time of 1 year might be not enough to analyze the success of the taken measure. Perhaps, it requires more time to see optimistic improvements in the statistics of road accidents in Prunty County. We can see that the text provides the 5 years span for Butler County to present the effect of the road improvements. Thus, to see changes in Prunty County it might be better to compare the current situation and how it will change in 5 years.

To sum up, based on the arguments presented in the essay, the idea to adopt measures which were taken in Butler County is not reliable.