In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patro

The author seems to have made a reasonable conclusion based on the evidence provided. However, he fails to consider other plausible factors that might also have lead to a failure in improving highway safety in Prunty County. Before adopting any measures stated by the author, the County must examine the said problem and look for other factors that might have led to a failure in decreasing the number of accidents.

It is the author’s opinion that in spite of a reduction in the speed limit on all county highways in Prunty County, the number of accidents haven’t decreased. The biggest flaw in the argument in the author’s assumption that all the accidents in the county are caused by driving over the speed limit. The author fails to consider that the accidents might have been due a number of other reasons. For example, maybe the accidents cause on the county highways are because the highways are poorly maintained or there is a lack of speed breakers. Other factors that could also lead to highway accidents could include lack of lighting that is poor visibility at night time or a general disregard of traffic rules to name a few. It would be wise to examine the actual number of accidents caused be exceeding the speed limit as opposed to the number of accidents caused by other reasons as a general decrease in speed limit would not resolve all the causes of accidents.

In addition, it is also mentioned that the highway patrol reports drivers exceeding the speed limit. However, the veracity of these reports remains to be examined. It is never brought to the reader’s attention as to how accurate these reports are. Does the highway patrol have suitable means of deducing whether a vehicle is, in fact, going over the speed limit? Or are the said reports simply a general observation? Also if the highway patrol has in fact accurately concluded that vehicles are driving over the speed limit, then do these reports mention the highway where such reckless driving was observed as opposed to the highway where the majority of the accidents occur? Without answers to these questions, the author’s conclusion remains weak and unjustified.

The author goes further to suggest that Prunty County should implement the same measure as Butler County implemented five years ago. It is the author’s view that since increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways and improving visibility at dangerous intersections led to a decrease in the number of accidents in Butler County, the same outcomes will be achieved in case of Prunty County. However, the author never mentions how similar or alike the highways are in both counties. The reader is also unaware of how a measure implemented five years ago in case of another county will actually help the county in question. The author makes unreasonable assumptions without realizing the impacts of his suggestions. Also, a 25 percent decrease in accidents doesn’t prove anything. A relative figure always leaves room for ambiguity. To strengthen his case, the author must provide the reader with absolute figures.

Without answers to the aforementioned questions, the author’s suggestion for the county to invest such a huge amount in a road improvement project is highly unjustified and unreasonable. Providing additional data in terms of a number of accidents based on the type of accidents, determining the veracity of the highway patrol reports and the similarities between Prunty and Butler county would certainly help in straightening the foundation of the argument put forth by the author.