The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette."On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involv

The author of the argument has seemed to have jumped to a conclusion too quickly without accurately examining all the facts. The author seems blinded by the sole assumption that all the accidents caused on Balmer Island are solely due to moped rentals. However, it is naive to believe that this is the only factor that has caused moped accidents.

The author claims that the population increases to 100,000 in the months of summer. Assuming that this because Balmer Island might be a favourite tourist spot, it surely would be necessary to reduce the number of accidents caused by these mopeds. The author suggests that rental companies should reduce the number of mopeds they give out on a lease. However, this might pose a serious threat to the people who use these rental services to travel. Without stating whether the reduction in the number of moped rentals would be compensated by an increase in other forms of public transport or whether people would actually appreciate this reduction in rental services, the argument remains severely flawed.

In addition to that, the author never elaborates on what kind of accidents usually do happen on Balmer Islands. He simply suggests that to reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, mopeds should be taken out of the picture. However, there could be a plethora of reasons as to why these accidents are happening in the first place. Maybe there is a lack of walking space for the pedestrians that is, maybe there aren’t enough footpaths which could’ve also lead to accidents involving pedestrians and mopeds. If that is the case, then a reduction in the number of moped rentals would not reduce the number of accidents. In that case, the solution would be making adequate footpaths.

Similarly, there could be a number of reasons that could have caused these accidents. Reasons such as a lack of functioning traffic signals or the public’s general disregard for traffic rules or lack of adequate crossings and intersections/diversions or the fact that the rental services provided by the rental companies are too poor could all lead to accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians. Furthermore, all these problems wouldn’t be solved by a simple reduction in the number of moped rentals. To quickly conclude that moped accidents could be reduced by a decrease in moped rentals would be a grave misunderstanding if all these other probable reasons are taken into account.

The author also mentions that similar effects in reduction of accidents were observed on the neighbouring island of Seaville. However, no details are mentioned regarding the neighbouring island. Is the island of Seaville exactly similar to that of Balmer Island? If no, how are the same implementation of reduction in moped rentals going to help Balmer Island? The lack of adequate data regarding the similarities of the two islands poses another threat to the author’s reasoning and conclusion.

To conclude, had the author provided data regarding the alternate probable factors that could’ve lead to accidents involving pedestrians and mopeds and whether the island of Seaville is exactly similar to the island in question, the author’s argument cannot be taken seriously. If the reasoning of the argument is to be strengthened the author must take into consideration the aforementioned points.