The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine."A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep t

The author has concocted an entire argument based on unreasonable assumptions and inadequate evidence. He fails to consider that there might be many reasons which could’ve led to higher profits as well as fewer hours of sleep at night. It is naive to believe that the number of hours of sleep might be the only cause that contributes to higher profit margins.

Probably one of the biggest assumptions that the author has made is that the number of hours of sleep is directly related to the amount of profits earned by the said advertising executives. There is no reason to believe that a person who sleeps for 6 hours at night is able to earn higher profits as opposed to a person who sleeps for maybe 8 to 10 hours, besides the fact that the apparent recent study suggests so. It could be very well the case that maybe the advertising executives who earn substantial profits have a tendency to spend such profits by indulging in libertine pleasures which leave less time for sleep. There could be a variety of factors that could have easily led to a lack of sleep which the author fails to account for.

In addition to that, there is no way of determining the veracity of the study mentioned by the author. The lack of details of the study poses a serious threat to the soundness of the argument. Was the study strictly focused on the sleeping habits of the advertising executives and their profit earning ability or was it a part of a larger study with a few questions dedicated to the author’s reasoning? The author assumes that the sample is representative of the entire population. However, is that even the case? Is the sample accurately selected based on the population of Mentian advertising executives? With the amount of data that has been provided, there is no way for the reader to answer all the aforementioned questions.

It is also wise to note that the author states that the study shows the average number of hours advertising executives sleep per night among the sample of 300 men and women. An average is not always the most representative measure of central tendency because it means that there could have easily been people that slept more or less than 6 hours at night. How many of these 300 people slept more or less than 6 hours at night cannot be determined without additional data regarding the statistics of the sample selected for the study. The author assumes that an average can be an accurate representation of the population and fails to consider the drawbacks of the said measure of central tendency.

The argument could’ve been strengthened had the author not made such hurried assumptions pertaining to the direct correlation between hours of sleep and profit earning capacity, the genuineness and the reliability of the study and that an average could be a true representative of a group of study. While it can be assumed that fewer hours of sleep at night leaves more time in the day for advertising executives to be productive and earn higher profits for the company, it is not a reasonable inference that the agency should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night.