Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and s

The early man walked on all fours. Gradually, he learned to walk with a hunched back and then in an erect posture. He discovered fire and subsequently came the discovery of the wheel. Man learned how to cultivate land and use the available natural resources. Certainly, none of this wouldn’t have been possible if it wasn’t for his eagerness and curiosity to learn new things and develop his existing pool of knowledge. Similarly, formal education plays a vital part in the development of mankind.

One school of thought might believe that formal education restrains our minds rather than set them free. However, I am of the belief that formal education does exactly the opposite. Any form of basic education will lighten up any man’s world. At an early age, students learn to develop an interest in books and education. Even the most basic form of education can make a lot of difference between the characteristics of any young child. Take an example of a young child being taught ethical codes of conduct and basic mannerisms. These mannerisms could go on to change how the child sees the world as opposed to one who lacks such knowledge.

In India and some other parts of the world, some students travel for hours on an end to attend school. The Indian government has gone as far as to provide free education to the girl child up to the standard of Tenth. Such implementations have vastly helped in the development of an economy. Consider a situation, where such practices weren’t implemented in India, some parts of India would’ve still suffered from a parochial, narrow-minded view which would’ve hampered the growth instead of doing any good. Education is one of the most underestimated forms of resources in the world. While it is true that not everybody can afford even the most basic form of education, many countries have made education easily accessible to such groups of people.

Nelson Mandela said, “Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world.” Our ancestors who were deprived of basic education valued education a lot more than our generation to whom education has been made so freely available. And while it is certainly true that a lot of our current billionaires or industry leaders have a high school degree at best, these people knew their passion. Without passion, a lot of these billionaires would’ve been still struggling and education has that power. The power to instill passion in a person, a passion to learn something and a passion to become something.

The statement put forth is subjective to say the least. However, education should not be seen as a cage. It should be seen as a means to open the cage.